History

In exactly one week I am graduating from college, but…more than my accomplishments or even the degree that the university will be graciously giving me, I am thankful for these past 5 years. These past five years of my life have been the best years of my life and I know that my journey with the Lord has just begun! I want to build history with him!

It was here that Jesus revealed himself to me and with increasing measure each year! How I lived without knowing him all the years of my life…I am being healed of now. It’s so raw, but so refreshing.

It’s 2012 and I have learned so many new things, have pondered over the past, and have dreamed for the future to come! God’s sovereign hand is STEADY and SURE. I can testify to that! I am continually wrestling with living in this world without conforming to it and it’s a beautiful struggle.

In the words of MLK: “We are called to be a people of conviction, not conformity; of moral nobility, not social respectability. We are commanded to live differently and according to a higher loyalty…living in the colony of time, we are ultimately responsible to the empire of eternity. As Christians we must never surrender our supreme loyalty to any time-bound custom or earth-bound idea, for at the heart of our universe is a higher reality – God and his kingdom of love – to which we must be conformed.”

He continues on to say that…”most people, and Christians in particular, are thermometers that record or registers the temperature of majority opinion, not thermostats that transform and regulate the temperature of society.”

I want to have both a strong mind and a tender heart. I want to change the world.

Lord, give me the strength to love.

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. Hebrews 11:1

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26

One thought on “History

Leave a Reply

