communion

Intercession is God’s brilliant strategy for including the saints in ruling with Him in power. Yet, it has such great impact on us as it draws us into intimacy with God, as it protects with humility, transforms with holiness, anoints with power, unifies in community, releases revelation, and increases our inheritance while it trains us to rule with His wisdom. -Mike Bickle

I’ve been realizing the necessity, but also the gift of prayer recently. I am thankful for this urgency to pray, but it is hard still. I still feel the need to do something to feel productive and I am still tempted to believe that I know all there is to know to live on. I never really knew what it meant that my faith, even as small as a mustard seed, could move mountains. I’m realizing that the key word is faith.

As I had been forced to remain indoors due to the crazy snow, I tasted a bite…no, a slice of humble pie. I went nuts the first day with thoughts of all the people who were outside with no home. All the people who might not be able to afford a hot drink. Those who were getting into accidents and those who don’t have the leisure of complaining about doing nothing. The humbling part was that I couldn’t do anything. I couldn’t even offer to relieve my dad of work and bring home the week’s pay instead. I needed to be still because even in that moment, my prayers to the Lord would be work enough. My contending and my interceding would be faith enough for God to move the mountain. It was never about what I could do.

For the kingdom of God does not consist in talk but in power (1 Corinthians 4:20) and the power of God is released through intercession. Even Jesus and the Spirit intercede on our behalf as children of God and heirs to his throne; how much more must I intercede for those I love?

May the justice of God come more speedily and flow like a river in all the earth as I prepare the way for the presence of God through communion with him. Until then, may I live in the freedom of knowing that it is finished. I am who I am because what Jesus has done for me, not what I have done for him.

Leave a Reply

