The God of Abraham

As I’ve been going through the beginning of Exodus I am amazed at the parallels of Moses’ life with ours. Moses had murdered an Egyptian and fled punishment and became a shepherd in a foreign land. In a similar sense, I had chosen my own way of life, a self oriented and self preserving life, trying to settle in a world I was meant to be a stranger in. Little did I know that God continued to seek my attention. Then Moses sees it…the burning bush…that isn’t actually burning down.

I have uglies in my life that I wish that I could hide forever, but lately God has brought my attention to it as I see the consequences of issues undealt with manifest themselves in other areas of my life.

When I finally see the burning bush after years of fear and hiding, God meets me, asks me what is in my hand and instructs me to lay it down. As I face the staff that has turned into a snake on the ground, I may be afraid and run like Moses (I literally laughed at this part…so funny), but God will ask me to pick it back up in faith only for me to find that it is the same staff as before but is made new and will be used to bring glory to God, help and encouragement to others, and fulfillment in my life.

When he meets us in our journey of life, he welcomes us with open arms and has great plans to prosper us and not to harm us. Because of the cross, he doesn’t condemn us, but asks us to give what is in our hand to him and return to him so that he can use it to reveal himself to others that they may see, believe and worship him…and hey…maybe even bring a people out of slavery and into freedom! Who knows? I know…that he is Lord. Yes, Moses complained and brought excuses to the Lord that were annoying to read at times but were moments that I could resonate with (hehe)…but our gracious God gently yet so mightily led the way for Moses (with his staff…and Aaron) in order to be true to his promise and to make himself known to all!

As I read Exodus I am reminded again that God is truly trustworthy and utterly faithful. The God of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Moses…is our God…the God of yesterday, today and tomorrow. He is who he says he is. He is the great I am.

Leave a Reply

