1 Timothy 6:11-12

It’s been amazing the way God allows me to see and experience certain things in the moment or over time in order to teach me and to help me better understand his heart and his character. I absolutely love it! I have been amazed at the way he has weaved things into my daily life and into the decisions that I make to reveal himself to me and I am so thankful! He knows me, the things that stand out to me and the things that move my heart and then uses them to show me his! I love keeping a journal because it allows me to see and testify to this! As God has revealed his heart for human trafficking and humanity to me, I have been awakened to the devil’s ploys in using media and societal norms to cause people to fall and to sin. Through the media, sinful acts have become normalized and even expected in our society.

I believe God is calling our generation, now, to live lives of purity – pursuing righteousness, holiness and self control.

Before writing this blog, God had prompted me to say some things on this topic…but I had been hesitant. As I have continued in my daily life he has confirmed this challenge in me much more deeply and strongly. I am amazed once again at how much he loves us and calls us to live lives more like Christ that we would know true Life, freedom, and live with a kingdom culture & eternal mindset.

Earlier this year (Caution:this post may get long :) in February, I was deeply disturbed. I am a person who had drunk while underage and have experienced how destructive it is. I am also a person who has experienced deep loneliness because of societal norms and expectations. However, I am a person whom Jesus pursued, redeemed, and set free – I am now who I am because of what he has done for me!

I have found that I not only find the taste of alcohol unbearable, but also the environments in which it is served and the ways in which it is used. In February, while at a friend’s birthday get together, I was filled with anger, disgust, and fury as I observed my surroundings. I saw men feeding women drinks only to be able to treat them however they wanted without proper consequences. I saw personal inhibitions go out the window and saw human needs and wants to be loved and satisfied be taken advantage of.

I began to see the reality of what our society considers as fun. I realized the scheme behind it all – how dress codes at most night (already a red flag) clubs require women to wear certain clothes and how some even don’t allow shoes that are not heels?!…how women are not charged cover and men are as if women are livestock to get tickets to a show for – to pet and to play with. With the media screaming “shot! shot! shot!,” I guess it’s no wonder that getting inebriated is what a “fun time” is supposed to be about – no consequences, no self control, no dignity, and no purity.

In Korea, post mission trip, God encouraged me through the Psalms where I came across one from Psalm 45 that reads: In your majesty ride forth victoriously in behalf of truth, humility and righteousness; let your right hand display awesome deeds. According to the ESV study Bible, these words were spoken to the king on the ideals he should hold for his reign and his character. The words that stick out are truthhumility and righteousness – As Jesus meets us where we are and as we acknowledge him as our Lord, the Holy Spirit helps us to desire and seek to be more and more like Jesus. God continues to make us new in which our part is to pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness and fight the good fight of the faith and to take hold of the eternal life to which you were called (1 Timothy 6:11-12 NIV 1984) — one definition of pursue is to actively chase or strive with a goal of accomplishing or obtaining it – we are to pursue holiness and righteousness in all aspects of our lives (not only in substance abuse, but in our relationships, our workplaces, our church communities, and more) as we prepare for Jesus’ coming as his bride. We need to adopt an eternal mindset because the world has nothing to offer us! We came into the world with nothing and we will leave with nothing (Job 1:21, 1 Timothy 6:6-7)!

I believe that God transcends the culture and societal norms so strongly rooted in our nation and this generation! May we be challenged to pursue holiness and righteousness as we allow God to make us new, purify our hearts and renew our minds in Christ! Also may we be humbled to repentance of our sins in fear of our God because we are no longer slaves to sin or to the world for it is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm then and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery (Gal 5:1)!

Apostle Paul said it best:

“Just as you used to offer the parts of your body in slavery to impurity and to ever-increasing wickedness, so now offer them in slavery to righteousness leading to holiness. When you were slaves to sin, you were free from the control of righteousness. what benefit did you reap at that time from the things you are now ashamed of? Those things result in death! But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves to God, the benefit you reap leads to holiness, and the result is eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

ROMANS 6:19-23

Leave a Reply

