i am because he is

“I am not what I ought to be. I am not what I hope to be.

But still, I am not what I once used to be, and by the grace of God I am what I am.”

John Newton, former slavetrader.

I AM HIS MASTERPIECE. God, the great artist, made the horizons of the beautiful sunset. He is the author of starry skies and shooting stars, yet he calls me his masterpiece. All of creation pales in comparison to his people, whom he loves so much! If my God, who is so great, created me, how then can his plans for me be any less than great? I refuse to believe that we were made to settle with mediocre. How can creations of such a great God be mediocre? It’s impossible. I was made for more. I am more. I am more than the choices or the mistakes that I make.

I am amazed tonight at the revelation that I am because he is and that my life can and will reflect his greatness.

I am grateful that my identity is not found in what I do, but what He has done for us. I’ve been redeemed and set free from my shame and my hurt. I am no longer a slave to my circumstances and to the lies of the enemy. I am free because he has given me new life and because my hope is in him, I will never be put to shame!

God, maker of the heavens and the earth…of you and me…who is sovereign over history, has a great plan for you & me. Do you believe? Let us surrender to his will that his plan may be made complete in us! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

