breaking free

As I am learning more and more about the prevalence of human trafficking all around the world…and even in our own cities, I find myself just so…overwhelmed. I think, how can traffickers do such things all for the sake of money?…then I realize that we, the consumers, also play a part in our demand for things made or done by slaves under the most horrible conditions. Thankfully, it doesn’t have to be this way. The victims themselves may not have options, but we do.

In a documentary about North Korean people who have fled starvation and are hiding in China, a North Korean woman talks about how she was sold for $15 and lives in constant fear of being repatriated. At that time I was thinking…oh my gosh…that’s how much my Kollaboration ticket was. Her life is worth…just so much more than that. It pangs my heart to think that even for one single second she might have thought otherwise…that she somehow deserved to be where she was. I wish I could just tell her how beautiful she really is. I look forward to the day that every single person held captive – physically, spiritually, emotionally, and mentally will be set free. I believe it can happen. I believe it should happen. The price has already been paid.

You were bought, not with something that ruins like gold or silver, but with the precious blood of Christ, who was like a pure and perfect lamb. 1 Peter 1:18-19

Leave a Reply

